Wednesday, January 27, 2010

Ennead Mentation: The Nine Visitations of God 4

Nine Gifts of the Spirit (KJV/God's Word)

1 Cor 12:7 But the [Ennead] manifestation of the Spirit is given to every man to profit withal.
1 Cor 12:8 For to one is given by the Spirit [1] the word of wisdom; to another [2] the word of knowledge by the same Spirit;
1 Cor 12:9 To another [3] faith by the same Spirit; to another [4] the gifts of healing by the same Spirit;
1 Cor 12:10 To another [5] the working of miracles; to another [6] prophecy; to another [7] discerning of spirits; to another [8] [divers] kinds of tongues; to another [9] the interpretation of tongues:
1 Cor 12:11 But all these worketh that one and the selfsame Spirit, dividing to every man severally as he will.
1Co 12:12 For as the body is one, and hath many members, and all the members of that one body, being many, are one body: so also [is] Christ.

1Co 12:7 The evidence of the Spirit's presence is given to each person for the common good of everyone.
1Co 12:8 The Spirit gives one person the ability to speak with wisdom. The same Spirit gives another person the ability to speak with knowledge.
1Co 12:9 To another person the same Spirit gives courageous faith. To another person the same Spirit gives the ability to heal.
1Co 12:10 Another can work miracles. Another can speak what God has revealed. Another can tell the difference between spirits. Another can speak in different kinds of languages. Another can interpret languages.
1Co 12:11 There is only one Spirit who does all these things by giving what God wants to give to each person.
1Co 12:12 For example, the body is one unit and yet has many parts. As all the parts form one body, so it is with Christ.

The names of the Sephirot are:

* Kether Elyon (Crown)
* Chokhmah (Wisdom)
* Binah (Intelligence)
* Chesed or Gedulah (Love or Mercy)
* Din or Gevurah (Power or Judgement)
* Tifereth or Rakhamim (Compassion)
* Netzach (Lasting Endurance)
* Hod (Majesty)
* Yesod (Basis or Foundation)
* Malkuth or Shekinah (Kingdom)

Occasionally another is enumerated:

* Daath ("Knowledge," "Order," or "Law")

Traditionally, Daath (Da'at) is not a Sephira itself. It is the absence of a Sephira. It is alternately called “the Abyss” (it is metaphorically interpreted as the dead child of Chochmah and Binah in the system explained by mediaeval kabbalist (mekubal in Hebrew) Issac Luria, also known as the Ari).

Da'ath has a dual aspect; on one hand it is our knowledge of the world of appearance, the body of facts which constitute our beliefs and prop up the illusion of identity and ego and separateness. On the other hand it is revelation, objective knowledge, what is often referred to as gnosis. The transition between the knowledge of the world of appearance and revelation entails the experience of the abyss, the abolition of the sense of ego, the negation of identity. From within the abyss any identity is possible. It is chaos, unformed. It contains, as it were, the seeds of identity. It is from this point that an infinity of gates open, each one a gateway to a mode of being.


Post a Comment

Mammon or Messiah meta contains copyrighted material the use of which has not always been specifically authorized by the copyright owner. We are making such material available to our readers under the provisions of "fair use" in an effort to advance a better understanding of political, economic, social and spiritual issues. The material on this site is presented without profit for research and educational purposes. If you wish to use copyrighted material for purposes other than "fair use" you must request permission from the copyright owner.